Ingenue by Atoms for Peace at the Laban Building

I’ll try not to spoil this with too many words, but I will give you three reasons why I love it:

i) the song

ii) the video

iii) the venue for the video.

The video was filmed last week at the award-winning Trinity Laban dance building, where my daughter attends children’s classes on a Saturday.  She has danced on this actual stage before and she will dance at the next kids’ show on this actual stage in 3 weeks’ time.

I’m not surprised that the guys behind Atoms for Peace, Thom Yorke & co, chose the Laban Building as their setting for this music video.  The building is cool from the outside and beautiful on the inside.  I’m not just saying that because it has walls in turquoise and bright pink and lime green, although it’s a definite factor for me.  The creators of this video were not attracted by the colour of the walls, for them the style and the reputation of this centre for dance is enough.  I take a fair few photographs there and I have posted some of my favourites here before.

The choreography in the video is by Wayne McGregor, the British choreographer and founder of Random Dance, the resident company of Sadler’s Wells.  Ingenue is not the first time Thom Yorke has been choreographed by Wayne McGregor; McGregor was also behind Lotus Flower from 2011, the Radiohead song first performed by Atoms for Peace.  Both videos are directed by Garth Jennings, who is one half of Hammer and Tongs with Nick Goldsmith, the director/producer partnership behind many music videos and the films Son of Rambow and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (2005 version).

The other dancer on stage is Fukiko Takase, one of the members of the Random Dance company.

Suits by Savile Row tailors Norton and Sons, footwear by Grenson.

Apparently, Thom Yorke has said that the members of his group Atoms for Peace (who include Flea of Red Hot Chilli Peppers) bonded over a shared love of Afrobeat music, and that the debut album, Amok, was “the product of getting together, getting wasted and listening to Fela Kuti”.  Amok was only released a week ago and I’m off to have a listen.

Isn’t it nice to be able to say you have performed on the same stage as Thom Yorke?  I don’t have the chutzpah to take up the Adults’ Classes at the Trinity Laban; I am happy to remain just a spectator of dance.  There is nothing I enjoy more than watching people dancing, even in this case when they are singers.

9 thoughts on “Ingenue by Atoms for Peace at the Laban Building

  1. Really enjoyed that, Hat! Great suits, nicely ambiguous & androgynous, good to have a peek at the theatre (not been in that bit of the Laban before), and I do love a bit of Thom/electonica. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Glad you enjoyed, I can’t get the song out of my head now. I’m not sure how Thom fits in with the men and dancing topic of last night but it definitely calls for a few more watches.

Leave a Reply

