Somebodies: A YouTube Orchestra – Gotye’s own mega mix

Thanks to Techvolo‘s new post which has just made Freshly Pressed on WordPress this week (jealous – moi??), I just found out about the latest of many videos which have been added to YouTube, inspired by Gotye’s enormous worldwide hit Somebody that I Used to Know.  As any of you know who have read this blog before, hattydaze spotted the STIUTK phenomenon in its infancy when the first original video had been viewed a mere 47 million times.  Back in January I first wrote about the video and why I thought it was popular.  I then kept returning to the subject, as the song was parodied, and the parodies were parodied.  Today, that original video has been seen 300,528,254 times and the number is still going up.

I am still fascinated by the huge success of this song and, not only that, I still like it.

After all of the videos we have seen, though, this latest one is different.

It has been posted by gotyemusic (Gotye himself) and is a huge mash up of some of the many and varied parodies and covers of the song.  It shows just how far and wide the influence of this song has spread.  I was already aware of this from my blog because, even on my lowest days in terms of site views, there was and still is always somebody somewhere in the world falling upon my post about the original video and my thoughts on its popularity; or watching the Walk off the Earth video which I loved and posted, or enjoying the instrumental version done purely on harp and glockenspiel.  I have watched the peaks pass through Europe and United States, through to Far, Near and Middle East, as the song has travelled through many music charts and radio stations.   I have seen the Chinese families doing their copies of Walk Off The Earth, and the multitude of talented and not so talented singers, musicians, would-be comedians and ‘normal people’ doing different, silly, funny, cringeworthy versions of the song or the copy of the song.

Every time I write about Gotye or this song (or anyone else’s version of this song), I feel it’s my last post.  Gotye’s own mega mix shows that the song still has so many plays ahead of it.  I watched the video again tonight of the original song, first time in a long time, and my children came running over to watch it with me and sing along.  I honestly feel from hearing Wally speak that the success of this song has shocked and amazed him too and his other material, being experimental and not along any kind of formula, will probably never live up to the dizzy heights of popularity as ‘Somebody’.  With Somebodies: A YouTube Orchestra, Gotye is showing that he too has had fun watching the trajectory of his song.  I bet he has loved watching some of the interpretations of it and probably laughed at a fair few.  I agree with @techvolo, this is his heartfelt thank you to his many fans who have imitated and flattered him.  And to YouTube, the community Orchestra who made it happen.

Watch out for it.  Be the 1,966,711th person to watch it (but you’ve got to be fast).  I in turn will try hard not to write about this song again (but it has been brilliant fun).

For links of all contributors featured in the video, see the Gotye blog.

With thanks to @techvolo, @WalkOffTheEarth, all the other contributors in the YouTube Orchestra and obviously @gotye.

7 thoughts on “Somebodies: A YouTube Orchestra – Gotye’s own mega mix

  1. Love this, Hat.

    Check out our friends for the music and the cover art. neurovoltaicorchestra.bandcamp.com/album/machine-nature

  2. I hope you don’t stop writing about Gotye – love the Youtube video – especially the 5 people on one guitar featuring the beardy guy!

  3. Pingback: URL
  4. Woah this weblog is magnificent i like studying your posts. Keep up the great work! You recognize, a lot of individuals are hunting round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  5. Pingback: here

Leave a Reply

